Motivation:It’s Cold outside

Motivation: It’s Cold outside

It was time for me to get up and go for a run. But it was cold in the room and warm in the bed.

I wasn’t motivated to get up because I was comfortable and getting up would disturb that comfort. So I laid in bed a bit longer. Enventually I got up and went for my run. The transition from warm comfortable bed to cold room and then even colder outside was still uncomfortable.

Once I was moving – it was easier to keep moving. I needed the motivation to move – to make the first moves. That was the hard part. We only need motivation to do things that are uncomfortable. Then we are surprized at how easy it is to keep moving.

I needed motivation to escape the warm bed and open the front door to the cold outside. Once I started those first steps little motivation was needed to keep me running.

We need motivation to change to make those transitions from comfortable to uncomfortable. The transition might only last seconds or minutes.

George Torok

Canadian Motivational Speaker

Leave a Reply

