Destination vs Journey?

 The Fallacy of Goals 

I rode my motorcycle to Port Dover. I’ve been there many times throughout my life but it was my first trip by motorcycle.

I mapped out a route that would avoid the logical roads that I would take by car. I wanted to get away from the traffic.

Of course it took me much longer – almost two hours. I stopped a few times to check my maps. I took a wrong turn and had to back track.

When I arrived I toured the town then stopped for lunch. Munched a burger and fries at the Port Dover landmark “The Arbor” then strolled around.

My visit to Port Dover lasted about 45 minutes then I headed back on the same route. Total time out was about 4 hr 30 min.

Later when I related my journey to a friend he laughed about the curious time imbalance. That’s when I realized that it was never about the destination. That was just a goal of convenience. It was the journey that thrilled me.

It’s not that setting and chasing goals is bad. Maybe it’s a Maslov hierarchy thing where achieving goals meets one level of need and enjoying the journey is a different level.

Maybe…

Or it just might be the musings of a middle aged guy too infatuated with his motorcycle.

What do you think?

George Torok

One Response to Destination vs Journey?

  1. Isnt there some well known quotes around this?

    “The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.”
    Don Williams, Jr. (American Novelist and Poet, b.1968)

    “Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.”

    Greg Anderson (American best-selling Author and founder of the American Wellness Project., b.1964)

Leave a Reply

