Change the Questions

If you’re not getting the answers you want – change the questions.

I heard this valuable advice from Joe Calloway. Let’s look a little deeper into this gem. I agree that asking the right question is much more difficult than answering the question. Asking the question determines the perspective, responsibility and value of the answer.

Smart people ask smart questions. Stupid people ask stupid questions.

Don’t buy into the myth “There are no stupid questions.”

The reality is that there are stupid questions. If you want better results, ask smarter questions.

For example:

If you have been asking, “Why won’t anybody hire me?” change the question to “What can I do to get hired?”

If you have been asking, “Why is business slow?” change the question to “What can I do to improve my business?”

If you have been asking, “Why do I feel so down?” change the question to “ What can I do to feel excited about my possibilities?”

If you don’t like the answers – change the questions.

One Response to Change the Questions

  1. You’re right, too frequently entrepreneurs take a completely passive attitude and wind up taking control away of themselves.

Leave a Reply

